X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mtmpenn
    • Jan 2010

Speaker Camp! Newb Edition...

I posted this on partsexpress, so for anyone that frequents that site, please feel free to ignore this.

The short version is that I'm new at all of this. This is my second build, and I don't own a lot of tools. I'm also taking a page from Jon Marsh and building these babies on my vacation. The major difference between my speaker camp and his is that I don't know what I am doing, instead of a half dozen routers I own a wood rasp, and my project couldn't possibly look or sound as good (I'll be happy if I don't just end up burning the thing in disgust). Onto the build:

New tools for this build include veneer supplies and clamps (cheap from plumbers surplus):

Then I got everything set out:

I don't have a router, but I wanted to try and give the drivers some room to breathe so I used a rasp to open things up. Not pretty, and maybe I should have taken more out... hopefully better then nothing:

And the clamping begins!

Then I got hungry and took time out for a hearty breakfast:

Then there was more clamping. I am loving the corner clamps I bought:

One down, the second about the be finished. I put some kitty litter in the empty spaces at the bottom. Some people have described their tritrix as tippy. I thought maybe a little extra weight at the bottome would help. Now that it is done, I'm not sure that it addes enough weight to actually matter...

That's it for day one. I will say that if you are like me and you need to buy tools it doesn't seem like speaker building could possibly save money. My wife may not even let me keep these (her words, when she saw what I spent the day doing: "Those are BIG;" she was not impressed). BUT, the tools are here to stay and buying stuff isn't nearly this much fun!
  • numberoneoppa
    • Sep 2009