X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Brian Kingsbury
    • Sep 2009

Madisound RBR Build

Seeing all the amazing build threads on here finally pushed me over the edge! I've never built any speakers (except a sub box for my car but.. that was almost too easy to count) but you guys all make it seem so easy so I figured why not? And I'm SO glad I did. I'd been researching for at least 3 months and decided I wanted to build something with scan-speak drivers based on their reputation as the best of the best. The problem was that I didn't have the money to put down on a full scan-speak 3way or 2.5 way like I wanted but when I saw the Madisound RBR price tag..... 5 minutes later my order was placed. It was really a no-brainer. I purchased the ported Madisound RBR kit with the premium crossovers. I think it came out to roughly $525 with crossover upgrades and enclosure accessories.

This is my first build and I was seriously lacking in the tool department: I had nothing but a circular saw, a jig saw and a drill - not even a work bench. Fortunately the people at my local orange box store were nice enough to cut down the 3/4" MDF panel ($25), although they weren't quite as accurate as I would have liked. A good router was the first necessity and I picked up a Hitachi MVC12 with the plunge and fixed bases for a reasonable price ($160) on Amazon. I'm quite pleased with the router, it's definitely a step up from some of the other less expensive routers. I also picked up the big jasper circle jig and the MLCS router bit set ($80) off Amazon. I bought six 24" bar clamps and 4 3" corner clamps ($200). For good measure I got a roll of bitumen with aluminum backing which I applied to inside walls/bracing ($20). The router, jig, clamp and other assorted things added up to as much as the kit but they'll last for a long time and will be put to good use :T