X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rhubarb9999
    • Apr 2009

DIY version of this ... ????

Hi all,

First time poster .. great forum. My last big building experience goes back over 10 years when the internet rage was the Carver 5' ribbon driver, NHT 1259s, and Shiva subs (all still working happily in my theater).

Anyway, in a previous life I was a recording engineer. I have been doing IT for the last 11 or so years, but am now starting to get back into recording again. I still have my trusty NS-10s ... but I need something else as a near-field and thought about building my next set.

I stumbled on the Barefoot Sound Micromain 27 and thought that might be an interesting concept to try.

It looks to be a basic MTM arrangement (with 5" mid bass and a soft dome) BUT there are two 10" drivers in each sealed cabinet. The magnets are attached ... supposedly to cancel out any vibrations (and keep the things from dancing off the top of a console).

So I am thinking of a homemade version of these. The real ones are active, most likely bi-amped .. so I would do the same. An active crossover between the mains (front) and the side (bass) and a passive between the tweeter and the midbass. Amps and crossover would not be built into the box.

The boxes are a total of 32 liters, but that includes sealing off the midbass drivers. So the woofers don't have a lot of space to operate in. Any suggestions on good drivers?

Does physically tying the drivers together make a difference?

This could be fun .. or a hot mess ..
    Attached Files
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Originally posted by rhubarb9999
    Does physically tying the drivers together make a difference?
    If the drivers face the opposite direction in the cabinet cancels the mechanical vibrations.

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment