X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • garybeard333
    • Mar 2009

Major College Project

Hi there,

My name is Gary Beard and i have just discovered this website and the excellent help everyone on the forums seems to be willing to give. I am currently studying my last year of a BTEC National Diploma in music technology and am currently working on my major project.

I have decided to base my project on speaker cabinet designs and to test how different shapes of cabinets have an effect of the sound produced. In order to do this effectively i need to try and keep the frequency response as flat as possible.

I have already purchased HiVi Research M6a Mid-Bass Drivers (http://www.swanspeaker.com/product/htm/view.asp?id=78) and HiVi Research TM1A Mid & Tweeter combination unit (http://www.swanspeaker.com/product/htm/view.asp?id=21).
    I did not realise at the time of purchase that the TM1A's are 5 ohms whereas the M6a's are 8 ohms, will this be a problem? will the resulting resistance not be 8 ohms?, will there be an issue with balancing the bass, mid and high of the speaker? and is there any way to fix any issues that may result?

I was considering purchasing Visaton HW3/120NG-8 (http://www.visaton.com/en/chassis_zu...ichen/286.html) 3-way cross overs, as i am not particularly knowledge about electronic components. Do you think this would a good choice?
    I would be willing to make my own if i was told how and what components to use, as i have good soldering skills, perhaps you guys might have some suggestions for me?

Each of my cabinet designs that I have decided to make for my experiment, which are rectangular, triangular, and trapezoid, will have the same volume, height and baffle width. I have chosen these shapes as they are the easiest I can build with the tools I have available to me. Having the same baffle width will look ugly on the rectangular and trapezoid cabinets but this illuminates another variable, how it looks is not that important for this experiment.