X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • soundtrek
    • Nov 2008

Mini Statements

I was all set to build the Mini Statements and have become somewhat hesitant. This would be my first DIY speaker build and I am nervous about not having the ability to hear before you buy.

I have never heard any DIY speakers so I have no idea about value versus performance when it comes to DIY. I am confident in my abilities as I am also a serious hobbyist woodworker.

I prefer a speaker with a flat response and very neutral sounding but accurately reproducing the source material. The speakers need to be 3 way or 3.5 way and full range. My listening style varies greatly from classical to pop to country and throw in some Irish (especially Celtic Woman) music as well. On occasion I am known to listen at pretty high levels as well.

My setup is Pioneer DV-58 universal player, Audio Research LS3 pre and currently a Peavey CS-800 soon to be replaced with a Rotel RB-1562 or 72.

I posted a while back in the official MS thread but am looking for some additional feedback or recommendations on designs. The budget range is $700/pair for drivers and crossovers. I already have cabinet and finish materials.

Also, if there are any Mini owners within a reasonable drive (4-5 hours) of South Bend Indiana willing to allow an audition that would be great.

Sorry for the long post! Thanks Kevin!
  • maynardg
    • Jan 2007

I've heard the mini-Statements as well as some of the alternatives at that price range. IMO, this is the level of investment where if you choose any design as well regarded as the mini-Statements, you will not fail to get really good sound. The challenge is one of choosing among flavors of goodness.

I really like the mini-Statements. They have detail, accuracy, and a quality of clarity that is really great, but if you really value warm sound they may not be the last speakers you build. They can stay clean at higher levels than many physically smaller designs.

Comment

• ---k---