X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • zman27
    • Feb 2009

Help designing my first DIY project

I am new to the whole DIY scene and I was thinking about trying to design my first project, but need a little help getting started. I am a college student on a tight budget so I am not expecting anything spectacular or mind blowing, just a decent pair of speakers for a good price, with the added benefit of getting to build them. I have gotten many suggestions from other people saying that I should start with a kit/a proven design, but I was looking and didn't really find anything that peaked my interest or fulfilled what I was looking for.

I was looking to build a three-way speakers about 20"-30" tall. I am looking to spend ~$100-$120 for speaker/crossover components. I realize that I wont get amazing quality for that money, and I am fine with that. The speakers will be used in many varying environments/rooms over the next few years so something that isn't very specialized would be best.

If you guys can provide any help/direction/designs it would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I have a question about modifying a pair of speakers that is in my current system:
    My system currently is:

2x Cambridge Soundworks M-55 Bookshelves
    1x Bose Acoustimass Center
    2x Technics SB-LX7 Floorstanding 3-way speakers
    1x Sony WM-250 100Watt Subwoofer

Would it be a good idea/an improvement to swap out some of the speakers on the Technics? Does anyone have experience with these speakers and have any suggestions of what I can do to them to make them a bit better?

Once again, any help is appreciated. I'm sorry for my inexperience, I am trying to get into the DIY speaker hobby and am trying to use this as a starting/jumping in point.
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

$100-$120 per speaker or per pair?

You should consider a 2-way, 3-ways double the crossover cost.