X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • icetraxx
    • Feb 2009

Wall mount speaker build and help

Can someone point me to a guide to build a set of wall mount LCR speakers. I am looking for a design similar to atlantic technologies fs3200 series (long and thin 6in wide, 5-6in deep, and 36" long) The LR and center are going next to a 52" lcd that is mounted on the wall.

I am pretty much stuck as to what I speakers I would use also. Tweeter is certain, however I am unsure if I need just mids or woofers or both to give me my mid range with some lows. A sub will be next on my list.

The receiver that they will be connected to will be a denon 789.

I am new to all of this but I am a avid do-it-yourself type that has the tools for a project like this and want to give it a try.

Thanks,
    Larry
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

It's a little more complicated than one might imagine....this should get you started...

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• impulse
      • Jan 2009

Hi Larry.

I am actually on the look for the same setup as you. It seems there are few if any DIY builds that cover this design criteria (wall-mounted, depth of 5-6 inch). I've just finished the Bose Buster but they didn't do it for me. The tweeter sound a bit harsh, and little or no bass. The main problem is power handling. Even with active crossover to sub at 150Hz they reach X-max quickly. They work well in very small rooms, but in my livingroom (17 x 17 ft) the sound is to lean.

What you are looking for is a design with some x-over options. When placing a convetional speakerdesign up against the wall the x-over normally don't need BSC (or at least less BSC then stand-mounted).