X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jkrueger
    • Mar 2006

Ultimate Hi Fidelity small box subwoofer

Hi all

I am new to the notion of subwoofers. I am not new to the htguide. I am seriously considering a sub for my 2 channel system because I am not willing at this point in my life to go to multi-channel, but I like the occasional movie. I currently am running Selah audio Scan-Speak 3-ways with SS6600, 15W4531G, and the 26W/4867T . It seems to me that one of my best options (if you believe the pages of propoganda) is a subwoofer that does not get discussed on this website. My question is this... Is there a way for me to do any better than servo subs if I am looking for low distortion, moderate spl, max extension subs? I just don't really understand what my options are. I figure that I can swing 3.5 cu/ft passed my wife. Help?

Flame and delete away.

I need some advice here.

Jon
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

As asked your question requires discussion comparing and contrasting the performance of servo vs non-servo, and that's something the seller of DIY servo subs doesn't consider us qualified to do, so we don't

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• gonar
      • Feb 2006

so we are not allowed to discuss our opinions because some VENDOR might get p1ssy? (not that I have one in this case having never heard one of the forbidden subject systems)

can't you just hit him with the ban-hammer and let us all speak our minds?

sorry to stir up trouble, but I rely on this forum for unfettered discussion of the merits and problems of drivers, alignments, components and such and the idea that some VENDOR can, just by being a pr1ck, prevent the merits/problems of his products being discussed openly offends me.