X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mornlith
    • Sep 2008

2.5 way MTM/W???

My lurking has caused me to confuse myself with mental exercise and I could use some help "setting me straight."

I like the idea of a slim MTM tower as the fronts for a home theater. If I wanted to round out the bass in a slim MTM tower (in addition to a sub), I was thinking about the use of a side-firing woofer kicking in at 100 hz or below. Poking around online I have found several existing manufacturer designs which utilize a MTM-sidefiring W but most of them appear to be 3-ways.

Since I am a noob, I have what is probably an obvious question:

If you are using a large, sidefiring woofer to augment bass, what are the advantages/disadvantages of utilizing a 3-way vice 2.5-way crossover? Is this a foolish question or it relevent and boil down to "only" crossover complexity? One half of my brain says the 2.5-way with a sidefiring woofer will probalby result in muddiness and all sorts of cancellations with the M's once it kicks in. However, the other half of my brain says the wave propogation/cancellation probably would not be any different with a convential 2.5-way design especially if there was a subwoofer relatively close by.

Any thoughts?
  • peter_m
    • Sep 2007

2.5 way reduces the cost of the inductors for the x-over but it's harder to design then a 3 way.

Comment

• wkhanna
      Grumpy Old Super Moderator Emeritus
      • Jan 2006

Re: Side Firing Woofer

link to previous thread: http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthread.php4?t=31113
      _

Bill

Practicing Curmudgeon & Audio Snob
      ....just an "ON" switch, Please!

FinleyAudio

Comment

• Jed
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Apr 2005