X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Paul W
    • Oct 2004

RS180 or RS225 for midbass in 4-way?

In an upcoming 4-way, with XOs around 180Hz to an RSS390HF and 800Hz to the RS52, I'm torn between the RS180 and RS225 for midbass.

I have measured the RS180 and am comfortable with performance up to 1k. However, the 225 may provide lower distortion on the bottom end, particularly if I need to need to lower the 180Hz XO for the RSS390. I have no experience with the 225 and have read that it may have energy storage issues beginning near 1k.

Would you choose the 180 or 225?
    Thanks,
    Paul
    Paul

• Jed
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Apr 2005

For a 4 way, I'd choose the RS180, for a 3 way, the RS225. The RS225 is best below 200hz, but you are going to cross around there, so why not capitalize on the RS180s midrange advantage?

Comment

• Undefinition
      • Dec 2006

Originally posted by Jed
      For a 4 way, I'd choose the RS180, for a 3 way, the RS225. The RS225 is best below 200hz, but you are going to cross around there, so why not capitalize on the RS180s midrange advantage?
      +1
      Could not have said it better.
      Isn't it about time we started answering rhetorical questions?
      Paul Carmody's DIY Speaker Site

Comment

• Mazeroth
        • Nov 2004

Paul, can you elaborate more on your design? I have all the parts for my 4-way dipoles but don't see myself getting to them for at least 6 months with the unexpected (but exciting!) pregnancy and all the housework I need to accomplish before the baby comes. My plan was to go RS390HF - RS225 - RS52 - Tweeter - RS225, in dipole, with an RS52 in the rear. I decided on RS225s so I could put the RS390 in an H-frame and get lower dipole output and crossing to a pair of RS225s around 100 hz. I'm still a newb when it comes to designing speakers so I could easily be swayed to do the RS180s. Luckily, I have six of them in the basement! :B

Originally posted by Paul W