X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TopherGreen81
    • Aug 2008

Noobster 5.0 (by a noob)

First I want to thank everyone for all the info on this site you guys/gals are an amazing superabundance of knowledge.
    So, I finally have a house now and no longer have to worry about the other ppl in the apartment building. I am about to start my first Home Theater DIY project and I want to keep the cost below $500 for LCR RR and LR. So I decided on the Noobster concept. I say concept cause I will be building the Cabs still .5 cubic ft but not using the PE Cabs to keep cost below 500. I am not new to audio just home audio I have build many car sub cabs and some home audio sub cabs. So heres my problem I am a complete noob to XO's, I want to learn how they work but for now I will use what is known to work and I have 2 questions on the (augerpro)MTM XO. Brandon says to use a 1.5mH for L2 and unwound 3.5 times I don't understand that. Also R3 and R7 are not needed right? Thanks for the help.

Here is the link to the XO.

• james5
    • Dec 2007

Just unwrap 3.5 coils of wire from the inductors loose end and cut it off with wire cutters. This end that you just cut will now be the new "connection" or "solder" point for the inductor.

I'm new at this too...but if I understand correctly you are reducing the resistance of the inductor by reducing the overall length of the wire to the optimal level that Brandon has figured for the crossover.

Comment

• TopherGreen81
      • Aug 2008

That makes sense. OK now I noticed that PE does not have a 28.9uF Cap can I string together a 20uF, 5.6uF and a 3.3uF to make that 28.9uF Cap.

Comment

• ThomasW
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Aug 2000

If you read the specs for any crossover component you'll find they're built to a tolerance +/- 5%, +/- 10%, whatever.

This means there's little no need to fixate on nailing 0.9uf given the tolerances of the components...

IB subwoofer FAQ page