• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cobblepots
    • May 2008

Infinity kappa perfect 12vq DIY

Hello all,
    I'm currently building this design:

It will be powered by an ep2500. I feel like this amplifier is overkill. However the ep1500 isn't cheap enough for me to justify the difference. Do any of you have better recomendations?

There is a lot of discussion in the thread about a few points:

1. They recomend OC705 or 8lb Rock wool. Both are hard to get for me but I've found a source for OC705. It's a bit expensive however. Does anyone have any ideas on a better/cheaper/more easily sourced material?

2. The designer recomends the DCX2496 to act as a digital crossover. He recomends a second order highpass filter at 20Hz to protect the subwoofer from frequencies below that level. This unit is also a bit too expensive for my tastes. I will be buying the UMC-1 from emotiva when I get my Statements finished. This unit has a balanced subwoofer output. I am still a bit new to the game and have been unable to determine if the emotiva will allow me to set both a high pass and low pass filter and at what levels. Basically, do I need the DCX2496?

Thanks!
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi,

1)The idea of needing a DCX2496 simply for a sub is preposterous. The sub out from the prepro is fine.

2) OC705 is cool stuff, but you can do the same thing with regular old R-13 fiberglass batting from a big box store. Understand OC705 is simply regular fiberglass that's been compressed and formed into a thinner semi-ridged panel.

3) No you don't need a EP2500 for that woofer, but as you've noticed the price difference is such that it's a better long term investment if/when you upgrade to a bigger driver

IMO 20Hz tuning is ok for chamber music, but it's not practical for anything else. So yes a high-pass would be necessary to protect the driver from the low frequency sound effects in soundtracks and the low frequency music recorded on many newer CD's