X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jimluu
    • Dec 2006

crossover question

I was playing with my dcx2496 with the deq as a rta. I have a coaxial speaker and used a log tone and a linear tone sweep to see how each driver responded individually and as a set. Basically I want a first order crossover. As a system, the flattest response was achieved by using a 6db low pass to the mids at 2k, and a 6db high pass to the HF driver at 4k. Does this make sense? I'm new to this, most crossover designs pick a point, not 2 different points. Thanks. Jim.
  • norcad
    • Jun 2008

It makes sense to me
    With a first order network, the drivers will be down 3dB at the xo point, and 90degr out of phase, thats in theory.
    If you use a flat baffle, the drivers are not time alligned, and the drivers are out of phase before you connect the xo.

In your system it may be that your drivers are about 90 degr out of phase because of the baffle, with a first order network connected, the 90 degr phase shift in the network will make your drivers in phase again.

With drivers in phase, you need -6dB at the xo point to make them sum flat.
    Thats why you have to spread the xo points.
    Measure the drivers one by one, with the xo connected, and you probably will see that they are 6 dB down at the xo point.

Try to push the tweeters xo point even higher, to gain a BBC dip at 3-4khz. This will often sound very well, and your tweeter will be even better protected against the lower frequencies.

If it sounds good to your ears, be happy with it

Comment

• jimluu
      • Dec 2006

Thanks for the explanation! It's been a great learning process with the dcx/deq combo, but I think I'd like to buy some real measuring devices. I'm thinking of the woofer tester pro. Can't find much reviews on it though. Can anyone comment on this device?

Comment

• Deward Hastings
        • Dec 2006

Originally posted by jimluu