X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tylerdurden
    • May 2008

My first build! Zaph's ZDT3.5 worklog

My parts from PE arrived today. I wanted to start my own thread cuz I may need some advice along the way and I dont want to crap on someone else's thread with questions.
    I have alot of experience building cabinets as that is what I have done for a living for years. I also build furniture for fun. I have a fully equiped shop with just about everything. What I dont have is a planer.
    I will post pictures as things progress. I am going to use BB plywood for the cab but I want to use some nice walnut, maybe oak, for the baffle and base.
    Wich brings me to my first question. The walnut and oak that I may use for the baffle will be in one peice width of 9" as per the design spec. But it is also 1" thick not 3/4". Can I use a 1" thick peice? I know I asked this on another thread but I wanted to ask it here as well. I just want to make sure I dont throw off any of the tuning by moving the drivers forward, or out, a 1/4 of an inch.
    I will be rounding over the edges with a 3/4 RO bit and will chamfer the inside of the driver opening as well. Thank you!
    Bobby
  • Homebrew
    • Jun 2008

Keep your internal dimentions the same as the plans and the baffle can be any thickness. Mine will be 1 1/4 inch thick solid oak with a 3/4 inch peice of MDF on the inside. Inside dimentions are critical. thick baffles are good.

Comment

• Rolex
      • Mar 2005

Post some pictures along the way. It's interesting to me that you build cabinets for a living, build furniture for fun, but don't have a planer??

Comment

• stangbat
        • Jan 2008