X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tylerdurden
    • May 2008

Using solid wood's vs. MDF/veneer's

I am new to HTguide so first off I would like to introduce myself. My name is Bob but you can call me Bobby, all my freinds do. I am a retired contractor who's specialty is custom cabinetry. I am a lover of vintage audio equipment and have a modest collection. But recently have, much to my wifes shagrin, takin the dive into high def A/V. I recently bought the Dayton SUB120 at PE and that is how I found this forum. Since then I have been spending alot of time at PE's web sight, as well as lerking here. Been Google'ing alot on speaker building and have found sites like Madisound, Selah, and GR research. As well as John Krutke's Zaph audio. I am convinced that I want to try my hand at Loudspeaker building. I thought that a kit (like the BR-1, "the encore" or the Triune) would be the place to start that way I could disect and learn, along with some good books, as I go along.
    My first question I would like to ask is Has anyone ever used a solid hardwood to build there cab's. Would there be any advantages/ dissadvantages to using say a solid oak. I have worked with MDF, HDF, PLY's, Laminates, and the like and while I see a cost advantage to them and veneers, I for the life of me cant see any acoustical property's to any "manufactured" material. Using a solid 3/4 or 1" thick peice of hardwood may not be cost efective but I happen to have a stock pile of oak, cherry, some walnut, and cottonwood. Most of it is reclaimed from some old homes that I have worked on over the years. I can mill it myself so there is no cost there but I dont want to do this if my speakers are going to sound bad. Some might say its a waste to do that and maybe it is. But If it will enhance the quality then maybe I will try it. What do you guy's think. Thank you lady's and gents in advance.
  • jquin
    • Dec 2006