X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • complet
    • Mar 2008

X-over and phase confusion, help needed

Im rather new to the DIY speaker world. I have buildt an 2-way floorstander from scratch, and learned a lot

But there is a few things about phase that confuses me, and I hope some of you could learn me som more.

I have worked with an xo that is 1.order plus zobel on the woofer and 2.order plus L-pad on the tweeter.
    I can adjust the values to 2. order acoustic slopes, and get a good reverse null, measured at 1 metre.
    What happens at 2, 3 and 4 metres? Are the phase still correct?

If I use a 1.order plus zobel at both low and highpass, should I still aming for a good reverse null?
    A theoretical 1.order network should be 90 degr out of phase, right?
    How can I check that my xo is correct then?

I have some more questions but hopefully someone could answer this first.
    Thanks!
  • rc white
    • Nov 2007

The results at one meter should apply for larger distances, neglecting floor and ceiling reflections.
    A thing to keep in mind is that so called first order crossovers are really third order crossovers because the drivers have second order acoustic characteristics themselves, and the overall electrical plus acoustic response is what matters. Exactly how third order they are depends upon how close to the drivers natural roll off frequencies your crossover frequencies are and you need an overlap of at least two octaves to ensure that the crossovers resemble true first order characteristics, it is this that will determine overall performance.

Comment

• cjd
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Dec 2004

Phase relates to acoustic slope (that's why the Hilbert transform works...)