X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ray Collins
    • Mar 2006

Questions on my John Krutke Seas L18/27TBFCG Project

I am building the L18/27TBFCG Seas speakers that John Krutke designed and I have a few questions. This is my first build using a crossover--I have built a BIB 168EZ, Fonken 127 and a pair of Rythmik 15" subs.

Questions are:
    1. I have a 2.25 mH steel core inductor from Madisound but the specs call for a 2.20 mH. Do I need to purchase an LCR meter to unwind it to specs?

2. When mounting the above inductor to the circuit board can I use steel nuts and bolts or should they be brass/non-ferrous?

3. How do I attach the crossover board to the inside of the enclosure...epoxy, velcro, screws that don't penetrate the outer wall or?? Do I use buttons or small pucks at the corners as standoff spacers--the back of the board has buss wire exposed.

4. I didn't purchase the port from Partsexpress that John recommends since it would be a single item order. I intend to use 1 1/2" PVC water pipe instead and use my 3/4" roundover bit to provide the needed flair where it exits the back of the box. I also intend to build a flare collar out of 3/4" stock to glue to the end inside the box.

That is all I can think of at the moment. The boxes are complete. The baffles will get the roundover treatment and have the driver holes cut tomorrow afternnoon.

Your input will be greatly appreciated.

John's build site is http://www.zaphaudio.com/audio-speaker17.html

Ray Collins
    Wine is constant proof that God loves us, and loves to see us happy.
    BENJAMIN FRANKLIN
  • peter_m
    • Sep 2007

Just curious, did you consider the SR-71 design? If so, what made you pic th L18?

1) If you were to keep your inductor as is, it will be off by 2.3%. That is generally not much. To give you some perspective, I've ordered a bunch of Solen air inductors and they all exceeded the label's value by 5-6%...

2) A hot glue gun is another option.