X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bf_brock
    • Jun 2004

Help choosing a design for some towers

So I'm looking to build a pair of full-range towers for HT and Music use. They would be used mostly for HT use but their music performance is very important. I want a dynamic speaker with good low end bass performance. Oh, and good off-axis performance is required.

I currently have JBL S38II's and want something that will perform substantially better. They aren't bad speakers especially considering what I paid for them, but there's only so much a fairly low cost consumer bookshelf speaker can do. The size of the towers isn't a concern, I can handle large towers but they need to be able to be placed close to the back wall.

So now to design suggestions. I'm not experienced in making anything but pretty basic subwoofers so I'll need to use an existing design or work with one of the gracious experienced designers around here to make something new. As for my woodworking skills, well I do know people who can assist me in that department.

Looking around at some of the previous designs I've had interest in Jon's M8a designs (like the M8ta and Tibor's MTM's), the Statements and I like the idea of Zaph's Waveguide but maybe with the Dayton RS225's in a larger tower instead. The Statements I think have to be ruled out because they require placement away from the wall. Budget wise I probably have to stick to ~$700 maximum for the parts. Of course the less I have to spend the better but I do want something that will last and won't leave me wanting to upgrade right away. I have no idea how much the cost is for the M8ta's and an MTM version. Also, could the M8ta's be modified to be a TMM for increased bass performance?

Sorry for the long winded post but I figure it's best to get as much info out at the beginning.
  • ---k---
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Nov 2005

For $700 you can build the Khanspires. If not that, maybe the Dayton RS TMWW.