X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fvoelling
    • Jul 2004

Some basic ?s re: speaker construction

I'm building the Modula MT out of MDF. The crossovers are built (not tested yet), and I've cut the cabinet walls, braces, and baffle cutouts. Since I have no experience with veneering, I'll keep it simple and just paint it black for now.

As I was trying to figure out in which order to glue the cabinets together, it dawned on me that there is the issue of being able to access the inside afterwards (to line the walls, mount the crossovers).

Once the cabinet is assembled, my only real access will be via the woofer cutout. I know the Parts Express cabinets have a removable front baffle, but I'd prefer not to have screws visible on the front. I could make the back of the cabinet removable for easy access, but I'm using the flared port from PE that will be attached to the back and the brace, in effect tying the two together.

My current brace is similar to the one in the PE cabinet. I've seen pictures in the Modula MT thread that show a partial horizontal and partial vertical brace combination installed in the top half of the cabinet. This would allow sufficient space for access to the inside from the front woofer hole, and may be my best option.

For testing, do you guys leave the crossovers outside the cabinet (I could do that by running the wires through the port), or do you just test everything without the box first? I suppose using a binding post plate would have made this a lot easier.

With respect to location of the crossovers, does it matter whether they're mounted horizontally or vertically, in front of or behind the brace?

Thx,
    Frank
  • joecarrow
    • Apr 2005