X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Suprchargd
    • Nov 2007

Zaph Budget Alu MTM | IDQ15 HT/Music Build Log

Hello all,

Just found this site two days ago. Already logged at least a dozen hours on here just reading away. I've never been impressed with the HT-in-a-box systems I've heard, and I've always been meaning to do my own HT setup.

Unfortunately I'm a college student, so I'm basically broke. I've decided to go with Zaph's BAMTM design to do a 2.1 setup for my basement due to the low cost and the relatively simple design of the box. The only modification I plan is to do a floor standing tower instead of using speaker stands.

My previous audio experience is limited to head unit and speaker installs, and the typical sealed and bass reflex subwoofer boxes. My first "system" consisted of a Panasonic HU and Pioneer 6.5 coaxes in my first car.

I already have an Image Dynamics IDQ15 D2 in my possession, and just ordered a Bash 300w plate amp (on sale today for $99). I plan on building a large bass reflex enclosure for the IDQ, tuned low. Hopefully going with a large box will negate the need to EQ it. Using WinISD I'm thinking of going with somewhere around a 6.5 @ 24Hz design. I have space to corner load the sub, but I was thinking I might make the box longer and shorter and use it as a desk, placed in between the two couches? Still undecided about that.

Anyone have amp advice for the BAMTM's? I saw a post from an earlier thread mentioning the Behringer A500 (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=248-749) from Parts Express, which currently costs $200. Any lower-cost alternatives within the same power range?

Can anyone point me to a thread or link describing how one can make a home-made jasper circle jig?