X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • megamuel
    • Oct 2007

Enclosure sizes

Hi there,

I am currently working on my first speaker building project and I am after some advice. I was under the impression that enclosure size largely effects the sound of the driver enclosed. Unless it has its own enclosure, like a dome tweeter. So I was trying to find out the optimum enclosure sizes for the driver and the mid I have selected and I emailed a guy at parts express and he said it doesn't matter what size the enclosure is for the mid, whether it be tiny or the size of a house it will sound the same. Is this really true? If so why does the size of the enclosure for the woofer matter so much? Sorry if this is a silly question, as I said I am new to this! Cheers,

Sam
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

The size of the baffle determines the boundry loading.

For a true midrange the size of the enclosure is fundmentally irrevelevent since the passband is so high.
    Last edited by ThomasW; 13 November 2007, 00:44 Tuesday.

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• SQdude
      • May 2007

It depends. If you are using a conventional cone driver, say in a 2-way design, the box size will effect the lower octaves. It would be best to play with Unibox, WinISD, or some other program to model the low end response of a driver in a particular enclsure volume using the TS parameters of the driver.

Comment

• megamuel
        • Oct 2007

Basically I had conflicting information. On one website I read: