X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • crazybastard
    • Oct 2007

Help crazybastard build speakers

I'm ready to experiment with my first true OB speakers. I'm not a scientist so I'll do the 'by ear' with the help of a basic RTA. Any thoughts and suggestions would be appreciated. My goals: a large, good sounding, efficient full range open baffle. I will build a large sub for under 50hz later.

Heres what I have so far: one pair of Radian 5212 coaxials. Can't find any other parameters on them. The 12" woofer/mid is around 95db/watt and the tweeter is around 106db/watt from what I've been told. I'm mounting it on a 20" wide baffle. On a test baffle 20" wide with a single cap on the tweeter at 2000hz, it sounds reasonably ok. Not a bad start. Low end leaves a bit to be desired though.

Here's what's coming: 4 Selenium 18sws1100 from parts express. Back ordered, but should be here in a couple of weeks. I plan to use 2 per side, wired in parallel. Crossed below 250hz. These woofers are 97db/watt each.

Can I have some opinions regarding this set up? Will the woofers overwhelm the mids since 2 in parallel will yield around 106db/watt? Is there a better set of 18" woofers that may work better? I want to stick with 18" for the 'crazy' effect, and prefer pro drivers due to my goals of high effeciency.

I do also have the option of using a different set of mid/highs as well. I'm thinking of using a selenium 18ws600 full range. The frequency response is real flat with a natural roll off at 2500, then use a bms compression driver for above 2500hz.

I like selenium drivers because....they have a nice basket. Crazy logic I know. But their specs seems reasonable, and since this is open in the back, I want something other than plain black drivers.

All help appreciated. If this project sounds crazy or plain stupid....look at the name 8O
  • cjd
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Dec 2004