X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rca
    • Sep 2007

Newbie here, please help

Greetings,

I am a newbie here so if my questions seem dumb, please excuse me as I am an audio lover and not much of a tech.

Anyhow, I've recently picked up a pair of empty cabinets that are in nice condition and want to make good use for them. Each cabinet has cut out holes for 2 12" woofers slots (bottom) and a slot on top that looks like for 18 sound XT1086 horn/wave guide. Dimension are about 40" tall by 20" wide and 14" deep.

What drivers would you recommend for me to put in the cabinets. I would need crossovers schematics as well as it would be a lot easier for me to copy/using existed proven design.

For horns and drivers, I am thinking of XT1086 and BMS 4540ND or 4550 or whichever you recommend. I am open to suggestions for the 12" drivers. I have a budget of $500~$600 max for all the parts altogether which include all horns/drivers, woofers and crossovers parts.

Please share your opinions/thought on what I should use. My main amp would be a 10 watt tube amp. I also have a 41hz class D 25wpc that I use from time to times. I can also use an old GAS amp that is 80wpc.

I forgot to mention that cabinets are sealed design and looks like they are about 7cubic in volume.

Thank you in advance and I am looking forward to hear from you all.

Nathan.
    Last edited by rca; 06 September 2007, 03:16 Thursday.
  • 1Michael
    • Sep 2006

I believe that most of us build boxes and crossovers to match the drivers not the other way around. There is a little bit more to designing speakers than slapping some drivers in a prefab box...
    Michael
    Chesapeake Va.

Comment

• engr_dave
      • Dec 2005

A two-way with 12" woofers (using a horn that only goes down to 1.5KHz) is a pro sound "make a lot of noise" solution, not a hi-fi solution. No 12" drivers that I know of are smooth into the kilohertz range and even if there were, they would beam like a flashlight.