X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Spanky Ham
    • Jul 2006

What ear plugs do you use?

I think a lot of you use ear plugs, so I was curious which ones people are using. I have a lot of experience using the E-A-R Classic foam plugs, as these were standard issue when I was a Marine Corps Armorer. I prefer the foam over the other kinds. I notice E-A-R has a taper fit. I was thinking of giving these a try. So, what is your favorite?

I want to add that working the range, I found that using plugs with ear muffs made noise almost imperceptible.
  • joecarrow
    • Apr 2005

I have some "high fidelity" ear plugs that I take to concerts. They're really great; they have a tiny metal can with a membrane to allow sound through. I guess the orifice and membrane material attenuate the sound evenly across most of the musical range, so tonal balance is preserved. They're rated for something like 20 db of attenuation, but they sound better than foam, and should greatly reduce your chances of hearing loss (or at least increase the time to damage) in a normal rock concert.

I wouldn't trust them around canons or anything, but I enjoyed them a lot when I last saw Foo Fighters, Weezer, and Hot Hot Heat.
    -Joe Carrow

Comment

• jkrutke
      • Dec 2005

I use Etymotic ER 20 plugs at loud amplified concerts. I've tried quite a few, and these have very good tonal balance. Nice wideband attenuation but not as much loss of the high end. I suspect if you want something better, you might have to go to custom fit style. (expensive)

I use 35dB foam plugs when mowing the lawn, operating the router, etc.

Joe: interested in the brand you use, I'm wondering if I tried those.
      Zaph|Audio

Comment

• ---k---
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Nov 2005

I use whatever is cheapest at the store.

(and more often than not, I use the a pair I took from a contractor at last construction site I was at.)
        - Ryan

CJD Ochocinco! ND140/BC25SC06 MTM & TM