X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • niget2002
    • Aug 2007

new to board... impedence question

Hi all!

It's been a few years since I've done anything really electronic. I have built two speakers in the past, 1 MTM center and 1 MT. I used off the shelf parts from parts express (even pre-built crossovers). They sound good for what they are, but now that I'm moving into a house, I'll actually have a garage to help facilitate my fascination in speaker design.

I read something on another post that had me scratching my head... How does an impedance plot of a crossover/speaker show how it will effect an amp?

My first purchase after the move is going to be the speaker design 201 book.

If you can believe this... my degree is actually in EET, but I spent most of my undergrad focusing on embedded design and not mixed-signal/filters type of things (and my grades prove it). Now I'm just a lowly little IT guy with dreams of speaker building grandeur.

Currently my system is run off of a Yamaha xv750 receiver. My speakers are a thrown together group of old 3-way loudspeakers and book shelf speakers with a sony 12" sub (I don't even use the two speakers I already built). The goal is to start with a new sub and work my way around the room (center, then LR, then Rears). I really like the WMTW/WWMT setup I read about on one of the posts.

So, to repeat my question... How does an Impedance graph show how it will effect the amp pushing it? (it's amp friendliness)

Edit: I guess I should mention that my listening is about 90/10 HT/Music... and I'll usually only blast the stereo while cleaning the house.
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

ideally, the impedance plot should show both magnitude and phase. That is, the "resistance/impedance" at each frequency, and the phase of the impedance. The less phase shift, the easier to drive. The higher the impedance, the easier to drive.