X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • nosaj070
    • Jul 2007

TriTrix Questions

Hey Guys,

I'm about to undertake my first DIY Speakerbuild (besides about a billion subs). I looked all around the net and found a ton of options to build, and I think that the TriTrix might suit my situation pretty well. First off I do not have a problem spending more money, I'm simply concerned as to whether it is worth it or not. These speakers would be used for about a 50/50 split of Music and just general TV watching/movies. I currently have Paradigm Titans as mains and whatever their lowest model center channel is (I'm at work and don't have the model number in front of me) along with a dayton titanic mkII diy sub. This setup sounds good, but I would like something better, and I'll have a couple weeks before I go back to school to build something. I have plenty of woodworking experience between my car audio habits and my subwoofer construction for about everyone I know, and I can solder so I don't think the x-over would be a big issue for me. I guess to sum up I think I'm capable of building a nice speaker, but I am trying to justify the price.

So I guess before I ask anymore questions if anyone has experience with these speakers speak up and let me know your honest opinon, especially would they really be an improvement upon the titans (Or I guess the Esprit or older Monitor 7's, as I have access to them)

Now onto the question I actually meant to ask, if I do build the TriTrix's I might as well build a center as well so would it be possible to built the TL mains and a vented center without causing any matching issues?

Also I think this would cause issues, but for asthetic issues would it be possible to overlap the mids and the tweet (Rout into the tweeter mount a bit for the mids) or even center the tweets. This is a minor issue, but I figured I'd get two birds with..you know what I'm getting at :roll: