X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sphynx_000
    • Jun 2007

Looking for some help with Zaph's waveguide design,

This is a continuation of a project started on avsforum.com, (thread)
    I came here hoping I would receive more info, and possibly some advice from zaph

I am building the waveguide project on zaph's site but substituting the P18RNX for the CA18RNX . I know this would normally be advised against, but I already had a pair of the polycone woofers and wanted to save a few bucks.

As I am new to speaker building I came to the forums to get some advice. A couple members at avsforum tweaked the box and crossover for me to adapt the different woofers.

Now I am just looking for advice on how the adjusted system looks. If someone has measured the P18RNX and could comment on its performance with the new crossover that would perfect.

The system adjustments are

CROSSOVER (perfectionist )
    C0- 3.9 uF
    L1- .7 mH
    R2- .41 ohm
    C3- 6.2 uF (changed from 6.8 uF)
    L4- 1.75 mH (changed from 2.0 mH)
    R5- 10 ohm (changed from 7.0 ohm)
    C6- 16.0 uF
    R7- 1.5 ohm
    L10- 4.0 mH
    R11- .21 ohm

CABINET
    -change depth from 10.75 inches to 8.5 inches (19.5 liters to 15 liters)
    -advised on trying tuning options of 85mm and 75mm (not sure of the freq.)

Basically, I am just looking for a second opinion on how the tweaked system looks before starting construction. Any help or advice for the build would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by sphynx_000; 09 June 2007, 22:07 Saturday.
  • sphynx_000
    • Jun 2007

anyone?

Comment

• Jed
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Apr 2005

looks like you are getting good advice over there-- too bad you can't measure it because it will never be perfect until you can do that.

Comment

• Dennis H
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Aug 2002