X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JamesH
    • May 2007

HT design for newbie

I posted to the Parts Express board a while back trying to figure out what home theater design to try building. I have no experience with speaker designing. I've installed a few car audio systems and built Wayne's DIIIs. I'm fairly confident in my abilities to execute a design if I have a BOM and schematics for the xover and enclosures.

At first I was thinking of Wayne's Dayton home theater (five MTs on the PE project showcase) because of my satisfaction with the DIIIs. I ran across a website at this link that had MTM variations for the LR&C channels, which piqued my curiosity.

However, cjd replied to my post and got me thinking about designs using Dayton RS drivers. He pointed me over to this site, where I buried myself looking at the 50-page long posts for "mission accomplished" designs based off the Modula MT design.

Currently, I like the idea of MTM L&R speakers, a WMTW center, and MT surrounds. However, there are so many versions of each type on htguide and they rarely have schematics and BOMs together in one post, making it hard for a newbie to put together a full setup. (It'd be awesome if they fit into PE's enclosures, but it's not necessary; I'm not sure it's possible with the WMTW center.)

Is anyone out there collecting links to the final designs for these speakers - with BOMs and schematics? Originally I was hoping to spend around $750 on parts, but I wouldn't complain if it was $250 per speaker. I'm still considering the Dayton system, but I would really appreciate any help you all could lend. Thanks in advance!
  • WillyD
    • Feb 2006

I'm not sure it's possible with the WMTW center.
    A WMTW center which utilizes the PE 1cuft cabinet is currently in development.

Comment

• Jim Holtz
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Mar 2005

Originally posted by JamesH