X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MOState
    • Jun 2006

Questions regarding RS28a and 3" flared port

This coming weekend im going to be finishing my coffee table/sub. All I have left to do is paint. While I am home, I will also take on the challenge of building the cabinets for some Nat Ps. The problem is I am a college student without the funds of buying any of the electronics. I won't be buying the port either so I can just order everything at once. So...I don't have anything to physically measure to base my cuts off of.

So, last night I prepared my cut list as well as the diagrams and such. I just have a couple of questions:

Regarding the RS28A:
    1) What is the thickness of the flange? I want to get all of this cut out while I am at my parents house and have the tools, seeing as how its not a short trip. I found something by searching for the thickness of the RS180 already, but nothing on the tweeter.

2) I have found contradictory info on the size of the cutout for the tweet. The initial post in the Natalie P thread states 3" diameter. Parts Express says 3.25". Im assuming I will go with PE on this...but just incase its a typo...

3) The picture of the actual box in the Nat P thread shows 2 notches in the hole for the tweeter. Can I assume thats for the leads?

Regarding the Flared Port:
    1) Since this port is flared (obviously), what size hole needs to be cut for it to fit?

One last question:
    I plan on making this out of some 3/4" oak ply from lowes or home depot. For anyone who has used this...does it chip easily...or should I ask, is it prone to chipping? Does the chipping decrease when cutting with the grain vs. against?

Thanks,
    Shaun
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

It's really best to have the parts in hand when doing fabrication.

If Jon's CAD drawing says 3" that's what I'd use.

There is one notch and both tweeter leads go through it.