X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JonW
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

Some things I learned from baffle diffraction simulations

I'm designing my first speaker, a simple 2 way MT, and I’m currently looking into various cabinet styles. How might one best control baffle diffraction effects? There are two good free programs out there: Edge and Baffle Diffraction Simulator (BDS). I’ve been trying out various baffle designs to see what looks good. I’m new to all this so I’ll post my findings in hopes that it’s useful to some other newbies out there. For those who are experts, I suspect there is nothing new here (if I have everything correct). Of course, I don’t claim to know what I’m doing, YMMV, etc.

Effects of baffle diffraction on the speaker’s apparent output:
    If we take a regular floor standing 2 way MT speaker with sharp edges, we see a diffraction pattern like this:

Image not available

Ugly, eh? Lots of variability, ups and downs. It might not sound so great with certain frequencies boosted, others far down relative to the boosted ones.

Change the shape of the cabinet, let’s say we use 5 sides rather than 4, adding chamfered (or faceted) edges, and offsetting the drivers from the center line will have a cabinet looking like this:

Image not available

It’s ugly, but we can fix that part later (see below). But look at how much smoother the baffle diffraction effects are:

Image not available

Smooooth. Almost soothing, when compared to the 4 sided sharp edged cabinet.

The software: