X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ColoradoTom
    • Feb 2006

Rookie Dumb Questions

Ok, so here I am one of the noobs, and let us postulate that Jon creates a final design for the M12ta and decides to use Accuton units. My question is this, in this scenario I will be spending nearly $1000.00 US on two tweeters and two midrange drivers :E . Since I’m fairly new at this I don’t have any measurement tools to test the speaker drivers themselves. How confident am I going to be that the units are fairly well matched from the distributor?

Second question is this, if I decided to purchase the equipment to measure things how do you go about creating matched sets. I assume that Madisound isn’t going to be especially happy about me returning a bunch of $250.00 to $400.00 speakers until I find the match I want.

Third, just how closely to things have to match, are there any guidelines?

Fourth thing, doesn’t it seem that the Scan-speak R2904/7000 tweeter with the ring radiator is showing up in a lot of designs recently? I think it is in both the Magico and the Hansen King V.2 and yet I don’t think I’ve heard it mentioned here at all. Is it just a case of too many drivers and too little time??

Thanks in advance............... ;x( ;x(

Tom
  • chasw98
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

Originally posted by ColoradoTom
    How confident am I going to be that the units are fairly well matched from the distributor?
    Not confident at all. They will grab 2 units from a carton and pack them and send them to you. You are relying on the quality control of the manufacturer. You might ask Madisound to hand pick and match a pair for you for a little extra money.

Second question is this, if I decided to purchase the equipment to measure things how do you go about creating matched sets.