X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chris7
    • Dec 2006

Phenolic

I saw in another thread that people are considering phenolic as a baffle material. I'm curious what makes phenolic attractive for this application?

I am not a materials engineer, but I thought the advantage of MDF was that it had a moderate modulus of elasticity and a relatively high density, both factors combining to make it well damped. The MOE of phenolic is about 4 times that of MDF, and its density is about 2-2.5 times that of MDF. It seems to me that based on those numbers, phenolic would be less well damped and more prone to ringing, with the fundamental higher in frequency. In any case though, it seems to me that using two sheets of baltic birch plywood laminated together gives you roughly the same MOE as phenolic and roughly the same weight, but with the advantage of being much easier to source. For an open baffle speaker, surely the extra thickness wouldn't make a difference?
  • timber_mg
    • Jan 2007

Damping is related to the visco-elasticity of a material so it is possible to have stiffness as well as damping in some cases, though rare and generally easier achieved by a sandwich (CLD). Perhaps it is because one can cast such baffles?

Often phenolic is used as a composite with weaves/papers such as Nomex which is Kevlar paper with a phenolic matrix I believe.

Comment

• noah katz
      • Dec 2005

"The MOE of phenolic is about 4 times that of MDF, and its density is about 2-2.5 times that of MDF. It seems to me that based on those numbers, phenolic would be less well damped and more prone to ringing, with the fundamental higher in frequency."

Higher stiffness and mass both reduce the amplitude to an input, other things being equal.

The other thing is damping, which I imagine is quite a bit higher for phenolic than MDF, even more so than plywood.
      ------------------------------
      Noah

Comment

• Chris7
        • Dec 2006

Originally posted by noah katz