X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • orbifold
    • Jun 2006

Translam sealed DaytonRS TMWW's (& probably CC!) Underway

Using Dennis' xovers.
    The son and I, and his truck, just got back from the 'Depot to pickup 3 more pcs of MDF. I actually have some 3/4 and 1/2 that have weathered several years in the garage-- "shop"-- with no problems since they were between other material. Some of this has birch on both sides. Oh, well. I have found a method, and I'm a happy woodworker!!
    I started with Brian Walter's plans, see the looong thread in Mission Possible.
    Thanks, Brian, for the inspiration and the plans.
    Thanks, also to whoever posted the words "A piece of paper, a pencil, and a brain" in reference to making plans to work from. I'm not used to CAD. If I were, I would have gone that way, I'm sure. It is quite easy to proto a design, make changes, and keep on gettin' up using those ancient, non-digital, items.
    I wanted a changing radius curve on the side, so I drew a centerline 19" long, and the back and front widths at 90 degrees to that on a piece of 1/4" ply. Then I bent a 1" piece of Lexan with in one hand, holding it against my hip on the the other end, and traced the nice curve between the front and back corners. I then repeated this about an inch to the side with a little taper-off towards the back to be the inside of the enclosure, and sketched a radius for the baffle edge between the tow lines on the front end. This gave me one leg of an open translam pattern ala this design, second pic down on the page.

Cut out with the jigsaw, beltsand to a good contour, and I was on my way.