Visceral impact of Jon's M8a vs 850490 ???

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jquin
    • Dec 2006

Visceral impact of Jon's M8a vs 850490 ???

Hi all Newbie here

I have looked at Jon's M8a/XT25 design and wondering how it would perform
    against my amateurishly devised three way of 850490 and maybe 821615 & XT25.

I am looking to build some fronts with visceral impact, something that is lacking from my current sub-woofer bookshelf combination. Not looking for a real low bass, hopefully the sub will do that.

Yes I know three ways are challenging for a beginner but I am happy to build something that fails as long as I learn something.

I would however like to invest in some drivers that are basically good examples of their type.

Regards
    John Q
  • Paul H
    • Feb 2004

Originally posted by jquin
    Hi all Newbie here

I have looked at Jon's M8a/XT25 design and wondering how it would perform
    against my amateurishly devised three way of 850490 and maybe 821615 & XT25.

Knowing nothing about you, your skill set or available design & building tools, my money's on the M8a design being in a completely different better class from whatever you might hammer together. Of course, this is the internet, so you might be a famous speaker designer known exclusively thoughout the southern hemisphere for all I know

The Peerless HDS have a reputation for being very good drivers that are reasonably easy to work with - they don't have any resonances or peaks that make crossover design extra-difficult.

The XT30 has measured well above 2000 Hz, and somewhat poorly below that, so it's a good 3-way tweeter but not so great for a low crossover. I've confirmed this with my own listening tests with the XT30 swapped out for a SS9800 - the SS9800 is much 'smoother' (to be fair, it's also much harder on the wallet). I'd look at the Seas 27TDFC for your use - it's been getting good reviews from the diy crowd here and is very reasonably priced.