Can I run a 2nd order high pass with 4th order low pass?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • warnerwh
    • Jan 2006

Can I run a 2nd order high pass with 4th order low pass?

My Cinenova amplifier has a second order crossover built into it. It would be nice to high pass my main speakers, VMPS RM 40s, at 55hz. Then I'd like to use a 4th order to low pass to the sub I am building with the Behringer cx2310.

My speakers have 1st order high pass filters. I don't understand how different crossover slopes interact. I am presently running my sub with a 4th order low pass and it is seamless.

Any help on understanding this would be appreciated.

Thank You
  • JoshK
    • Mar 2005

Warner,

I am far from an expert on these matters, but do you have a means to measure? The important part is how the two systems combine acoustically (not electrically) *in your room*.

So I might measure the RM40's raw in your room down low. Then I'd add the high pass and see how that measures in your room and then add in the sub with low pass and go from there. I think it is possible to get good results, but I haven't yet read enough on filter summation to know how it will work without empirical results.

Comment

• warnerwh
      • Jan 2006

Josh: That's what I'd think too. I do have a way to measure my response and can adjust the Behringer DEQ 2496 for a smooth response but I've gotten the impression there's phase errors or something with a second order network. If there are errors it could be that down this low it wouldn't matter. Hopefully someone who understands crossover interaction will chime in.

I wonder too if I couldn't run a second order low pass being as it's already built into my amp. That would save me the cost of a crossover.

If you get to Portland again please let me know as you're more than welcome here.
      Last edited by warnerwh; 14 December 2006, 11:54 Thursday.

Comment

• Habs4life
        • Apr 2006

Warner,