X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Finleyville
    • Sep 2006

PE enclosure question - search no luck

Anyway...

I will be building a TW pair using the RS28's and the RS225's with this PE enclosure.. Has anyone tried to use their own front baffle? I was intrested in a glossy mahogany front. Would this even work with dissimilar materials? I was hoping to find a 3/4" baffle and rabbit the sides similar to the stock front baffle. Since I have never built home speakers before I was looking for a little guidance.

Oh, btw, the reason I was using the PE part in the first place is I do not thnk I could do a better job with a piano black finish than those. Thanks again.
    BE ALERT! The world needs more lerts.
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Wouldn't it be easier to strip the finish of the stock baffle and apply some mahagony veneer?

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• jkrutke
      • Dec 2005

Originally posted by Finleyville
      Anyway...

I will be building a TW pair using the RS28's and the RS225's with this PE enclosure.. Has anyone tried to use their own front baffle? I was intrested in a glossy mahogany front. Would this even work with dissimilar materials? I was hoping to find a 3/4" baffle and rabbit the sides similar to the stock front baffle. Since I have never built home speakers before I was looking for a little guidance.

Oh, btw, the reason I was using the PE part in the first place is I do not thnk I could do a better job with a piano black finish than those. Thanks again.
      Hello,

I put my own baffles on PE boxes all the time. The baffles on both this and this project are non-PE. I use up the original baffle and then want to try something else, but honestly I think the price of their blank baffles is too high for what amounts to a simple painted piece of MDF.