X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • strevo
    • Mar 2005

Careers in Speaker Design

I am not sure where to post this thread, so maybe the moderators can move it to where it should be.
    Due to the fabulous state of my current industry of employment (automotive supplier whose company is currently bankrupt along with many others), I am considering a career change. I have always been interested in home audio product design, speakers, components, etc. I am an Industrial Designer with a BFA from the venerable College for Creative Studies in Detroit, MI. What I am wondering is, do any of the high-end speaker manufacturers employ industrial designers, or is it all engineers? I am sure that the component side must use designers, but my interest really lies with the speakers. Is this something that I would need acoustical/electrical engineering education to do? Where can I find out any info about careers in audio product design? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    -Steve Warden
  • knifeinthesink
    • Jan 2006

there are some job postings at the audio engineering society web site. Not much there.

Beyond that, and now Im speaking as a fellow creative professional (I'm a food and product photographer), I would put together an extremely professional promo pack, art directed and photographed professionally, showing off your work, with some blurbs spelling out the value of good product design, and send it to some of the principals or marketing heads at companies that interest you. Of course it would a good idea to have speaker designs in there.

My gut says companies doing the computer audio thing are the ones to go after.