X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DewChugr
    • Oct 2006

Help a first time builder please

Hello,

I am interested in building a pair of speakers and I need some advice. I have some electronics experience, butnot design, more construction. I have a good friend that is a master woodworker I hope to get help from. I don't think building will be a problem. The problem I have is what to build and what to expect from the speakers. I have no test equipment other than a Fluke meter and no dsign software. I listened to a pair of Klipsch RB-81s, but $700!

This is what I want to do. I want to build a smallish pair of speakers for my 15 year old son. He's into the linkin park and hip hopish type stuff and likes too much bass. I bought him a pioneer receiver, it's a couple of years old, digital surround, not elite series. He listens to cds, nothing fancy and radio.

This is what I'd really like in order of importance.

Cheap, $100-200 for a first project.
    Decent bass and overall sound.
    work in teen bedroom, placement wouldn't be ideal I'm sure.
    reasonable size, the klipsch were about as big as I'd want to go.

I'm not looking for a kit, but rather plans that have been built and with known results.

Here are a couple of projects I have seen that may work.

Dayton 3 http://www.speakerbuilder.net/web_fi...D3/dayton3.htm

Parts Express BR-1 http://murphyblaster.com/content.php?f=pe_br1.html but I'd rather build the cabinets

Zaphaudio Silver Flute http://www.zaphaudio.com/audio-speaker13.html

Modula MT http://mysite.verizon.net/res6vgmm/danspage/id8.html

I'd like to know if anyone has a recomendation for a project that might fit what I'm looking for.

I'd really appreciate any advice or opinions anyone has.

Thanks,
    Steve
  • chasw98
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006