X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • matt12v
    • Mar 2006

Active 3way dcx-2496 open baffle.. help wanted

Hello, any of you guys out there using the Behringer dcx-2496 in open baffle designs!?... I need help! So far this forum has been a great indispensable wealth of knowledge for me I don't post on here much but I'm looking for some help with my system. I'm in the process of finishing these mains but I'm having trouble with the low end.

Right now what I am running is a Marantz Preamp into the Behringer dcx-2496 active 3way crossover into 3 amps. 1. a modded Sonic Impact T-Amp runs the 2 Seas 1212 1" Tweets 2. a Carver TMF15-CB 100x2 running 4 of the new 6.5" Ascendant Audio Mid basses at 8ohms. 3. another Carver TMF15-CB 150x2 running 2 TC-1000 10" in vented enclosures at 4ohms. I have the mid/tweeter crossover point at 1.7khz 48db/octave and the sub/woofer crossover at 184hz 48/db lol. ops: Before you yell at me here is the trouble.

I am new to open baffle designs but to me open baffle is the only way to go 8) . My last set of speakers I made lasted me 9 years and had enclosed Seas Excel Magnesium 6.5" and Scan-Speak 9300 tweets. When I first heard an open baffle design It blew my old setup away! The thing im going for this time is a warm sounding midrange. The trouble I am having is after shelv EQing the midbass almost flat I still have to crossover the Sub up at 184hz to get the best warmth in the midrange. When I do that everything is Exellent but the low end is then lacking punch. When I cross the Sub/mid over at 100hz or so then I have plenty of punch or slam but not the warm midrange.