X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Newfiestang50
    • Mar 2006

First cuts made today

Well I finally made my first cuts today after a long process of reading all the info I could find on here, plus saving up the cash to buy a router, bits, and a circle jig. I have never used a router before but through careful measurement I managed to achieve a perfect fit with the baffle and top plug, very tight fit but after using a 1/8" roundover it fits perfect. Tomorrow I plan on recessing the driver and cutting the hole for the 6" port for which I plan to use sonotube. I am aiming for tune between 15 and 16 Hz so I believe I will need it cut approx. 33". The one problem I do have is that my jig will not allow me to cut a circle smaller than 10.5" so I have to come up with a way to rout a 6" hole, any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Oh, by the way, I plan on an enclosure size of 250 effective litres using 20" sonotube, and the driver is the very well known SS RL-P15 D2.

Also guys, I would really like to thank all the experts on here for your free information, specifically ThomasW, Seve Callas etc. and all the others, you don't know it but you guys have helped me alot and i'm not even finished yet, thanks.

Some pics: Images not available
    Last edited by theSven; 25 June 2023, 23:14 Sunday. Reason: Remove broken image link
  • dynamowhum
    • Aug 2006

Congratulations on the new sub. You might look into a Jasper jig 200 it did the whole for my 15" sub and my small tweeter. Pretty broad range. Good luck with the rest of the build.

Comment

• Paul H
      • Feb 2004

Originally posted by Newfiestang50
      ... The one problem I do have is that my jig will not allow me to cut a circle smaller than 10.5" so I have to come up with a way to rout a 6" hole, any ideas will be greatly appreciated.