First crossover attempt - what do you think?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ChaoticKinesis
    • Aug 2006

First crossover attempt - what do you think?

Hello all.
    This is my first attempt at a speaker design and I would like to know what you think. I intend to use the Peerless 831990 woofer on sale at Madisound and the Seas 27TDFC in an MTM configuration. A possible crossover is attached below and I would like to know your thoughts on it.

My main concern is the impedance phase angle, because I understand that that should not rise or fall as much as it does here (+/- 50 degrees). For some reason every design iteration so far, which has been a dozen or so, has not been better in this regard. I'd like to know what I'm doing wrong for this to be happening, when I see so many designs that are +/- 20 degrees. Though my knowledge of electronics is not great, don't be afraid to throw a somewhat technical explanation out at me, if that's what is necessary.

For the record, I'm using manufacturer's data with the FRD tools and SW for crossover design. And the single woofer in the network diagram is actually the response of a network consisting of the two woofers parallelled.

Thanks in advance!
    Dave

Click image for larger version

Name:	Frequency Response.JPG
Views:	296
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	868155

Name:	Impedance.JPG
Views:	259
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	868156

Name:	Crossover.JPG
Views:	277
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	868157
    Last edited by theSven; 13 August 2023, 22:01 Sunday. Reason: Update image location
  • ChaoticKinesis
    • Aug 2006

Well over 100 views and still no reply? Basically I'd just like to know if this impedance curve is something I should be wary about for the sake of my amp. Is the problem in the crossover design or is it inherent in the drivers themeselves (doubt that)?

Dave

Comment

• Tommythecat
      • Nov 2005

What amp?

Comment

• ChaoticKinesis
        • Aug 2006

It's an HK230 receiver.

Comment

• Dennis H