X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Nemophyle
    • Jul 2006

2 way with WG and 10" aluminum drivers

ok so this is an idea i had in my head for a pretty long time. I studied the problems and compromises i should make in order to achieve that, and i think it's not impossible

i want to take one of theses as a woofer, possibly one of the scanspeak revelator, as i assume they are the lowest compression/distortion 10" alu drivers one could find

Scanspeak 25W8567-SE

Revelator 26W/4867T00

Seas excel W26FX

Seas aluminium 10"

and couple it with a very good tweeter, possibly the accuton c-23, or the seas excel.

as you guessed, the aim is a tweeter that can go low without strain. If you have other alternative i'm open to it.
    i would put that tweeter in a oblate spherical waveguide ( according to Dr.Geddes theory) of 10" or 12" diameter, with 90° angle coverage, in order to have a good gain down to 800-900 hz. I could possibly do the waveguide even larger ( 15") if necessary.

i'm not worried about the inherent size of the woofer for a two way, as the aim is sort of constant directivity, beaming of the woofer is wanted.

as i would cross over at 800-1000hz ,(with a computer and some FIR filter i conceived, with very steep slopes) i'm much more worried about inherent limitations of the drivers

what do you think ? am i totally crazy, or is there something worth the effort in my project ?

thanks !
  • Nemophyle
    • Jul 2006

for example, i know that even if i cut the woofer at 1000hz 96db/octaves ( i can do higher) so that the breakup is totally out of the band, there could be manifestations of the breakup in form of odd order distortions down in the spectrum. I know ome very experienced people contributing to this forum works with metal cones and low crossover points, so please enlighten me

Comment

• noah katz
      • Dec 2005

If you're willing to spend for an Accuton, why not do it right and get a high quality compression driver like the BMS 4552ND.