X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DennisP
    • Jun 2006

2 x 15" TC-3000 Sub

Lurking for a long time, first post!

I noticed these drivers on TC's website, and they look stellar. I was inspired by the recent 2 x15 SS vented monster another member built and I'd like to do something similar with the TC-3000 drivers, which should provide even more output (based on the specs.)

I'd like to lay the box horizontally, since it will probably be tall (I haven't modeled it yet, kind of a newbie). I'd love to keep it to 27"H x 30"D x 52"W (outside finished dimensions) and tuned to 16HZ. The drivers are quad 1 Ohm coils, so can I wire each one with one 4Ohm channel of a 2 channel pro amp? If that's the case, then 1000W at 4Ohms should be enough power (per driver). Am I making sense, or am I nuts? :P

I have to mention again that I'm a newbie at this stuff, and my woodworking skills are not great, but I have access to people (brother in law, father in law) with tools and more skills than I have that I can con into helping me build a box. I have Unibox and have played with it a little bit, but admit I'm a little confused at all the parameters (and am annoyed that every mfr seems to post in different units for different parameters!)

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Dennis
  • SteveCallas
    • Aug 2005

Post the T/S parameters for those drivers and I will see what I can come up with. You've set the bar pretty high with trying to beat Steve nn's sub

Comment

• DennisP
      • Jun 2006

Here they are... 8)

15" TC-3000 QVC

Qts 0.260
      Qes 0.275
      Qms 4.950
      Fs 19hz
      Res 5.28Ω
      Ls 9.2 mH
      Lp 20.2mH
      Rp 27.66Ω
      Dia 325mm
      Vas 205.1l
      mms 329.5g
      cms 212.2m/N
      bl 29T*m
      Spl 89dB

For more info:
      Link!

Comment

• Jack Gilvey
        • Aug 2001

Holy Inductance, Batman!

Comment

• Bent
          Super Senior Member
          • Sep 2003