X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • yousuredo2
    • Jun 2006

First time DIY ???'s

I am new to most all of this, so bare with me please...

I am looking to do my first 'DIY Home Audio' project....(Very excited too)
    But I am Lost in this new world, and need some guidence.
    Keep in mind, I am in an Appartment, but i want it to be able to grow with me...

I currently have a pair of Polk~RTi6 for L & R, and a Polk~CSi5 for the Center...
    they sound good to me, but when ever I go to a HiFi superstore I hear so many better sounding speakers I caint afoard

So, the DIY Idea looks like the sound solution Here...

I have worked on several car audio project for almost all of my freind, ect...
    I have also built some furniture grade Aqurium stand's-canopy's, entertainment centers, and tables...

I love working with wood and have some WW tools...

What I want for my first DIY project is a 'Proven Design', for HT and Music...
    I currently dont have a sub(was leaning towards this being my first)
    But, on the other hand, If a new set of front towers would provide me enough base, I would like this to be my first...
    I Dont need the super high end stuff/equivilant, but I would love some decent, solid, impressive, speakers that would out preform most of what I could find at the local HIFI superstore's...(keep in mind what I currently have)
    so, it shouldnt be hard to impress me...

Now that being said...
    Here are my Questions:

-I have Only heard the systems (ie:Klipsh, Velodyne,ect...) at local HIFI SuperStore's, How do the DIY systems "Sticky'd" here compare to them ?
    -Is there Any DIY folks near me (Atlanta Area), so I might hear some of the audio project, I keep reading about ?
    -When Researching, I found the D 8's, Dayton III's, and several others...(then I come here, wow....enough said) What would you recomend being a good solid first diy project ?