X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • 2ROCKY
    • Jun 2006

crossover for RS180/RS28 MTM

Hi guys I'm new to this. I built the BR-1 but I'm not shure if that counts or not. Anyway I plan to build a set of RS180/RS28 MTMs. Roman Bedark has designed a 2.5 for this MTM. I like the reason he designed this version but I can't find much information about how well it works. I figure that I'll bulid this version or the Natalie P. Any information or opinions you knowledgeable folks can share will be most appreciated.

Thanks Daniel
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi, and welcome to HT-Guide.

It's Roman Bednarek

This might help you understand.....or just further confuse...:wink:

The design of a standard MTM 2-way is such that the two woofers acoustically couple to function as one larger driver across their entire passband.

Standard 2.5 ways (TMM) are constructed so there are some shared frequencies, but the bottom driver doesn't play as high as the top woofer.

If one makes a MTM as a 2.5 way, the woofers of course aren't reproducing the same frequencies throughout their passband. So at some frequencies the woofer are coupling and at others they aren't. I'd be curious to see the lobing pattern that creates....

So the concept of an MTM 2.5way sounds a bit weird to me given what I know about TMM 2.5 ways and MTM 2-ways. But I've never heard one of Roman's designs so I don't know how they work in the real world.

If Roman showed testing of the dispersion patterns comparing the 2-way MTM vs the 2.5 way MTM then making an educated guess would be easier. As is I don't have a clue.

My recommendation for you is build the NatalieP. Many have done so and all seem quite pleased with what they built.

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• Rudy Jakubin
      • May 2005