X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JayhawkMD
    • May 2006

Noob attempting DIY Sono Sub

Hey everyone,

First of all I'd like to say this forum is awesome and I was very impressed with all the projects I have seen, and initially I was just trolling but you guys have inspired me to try a project of my own. Anyways, I have done a fair amount of research (other forums like AVS, and audioholiks, some personal web pages too, this is definately the deep end of the knowledge pool) but I still have some unanswered questions. Ill just start by throwing out some info about myself and what I am going for....

First of all I am a third year medical student so the ceiling on my budget is pretty low and I have a limited amount of free time. I am doing my family practice and geriatrics rotations in the next 12 weeks so I will have plenty of time, but once September/October hits my life is over when I start surgery. Also I have a very little experience with speakers and such, I am pretty good with my hands and woodworking, I was able to finish my basement from framing all the way to finishing (I contracted out mudding and taping of drywall). And I learn quick.

What I have: Anyways, we purchased a hi-def set just in time for the world cup and I am about to pull the trigger on a 5 speaker set from Axiom (the M22s with the higher end center and medium end surround speakers). Right now I have a Denon 2805 reciever. The room is 20 X 15 in my basement with finished walls. Size is not an issue. From my research I imagine i'll be pushing this thing with a Behringer 1500.

What I want: So I watch alot of sports, but unfortunately I dont have very many movies (that will probably change), and I love to listen to music from electronic, to rock and indie, to classical (basically everything besides rap). So I want a sub with clean, accurate bass. The boom-boom is not a must, but it would be nice since, I will end up watching more movies. So quality > quantity. My budget is capped at 600.