Any recommendations for a digital volt/multi meter?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JonW
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

Any recommendations for a digital volt/multi meter?

Before putting together my first crossover, I should probably have a digital volt meter/digital multi meter around. To test things ahead of time and not risk frying my amp. I'm a total novice when it comes to electronics. And I can't imagine I'll use the meter for anything other than crossover testing. Chuck said I should look for one that can measure capacitance and/or frequency along with AC and DC voltage and resistance.

Are there any particular models you might recommend? Thanks.
  • Bent
    Super Senior Member
    • Sep 2003

What budget?
    we use Flukes,
    model numbers 87, 89, 187, etc
    most recent ones are mark IV's of the 187's and 189's - but these are higher end DMM's that are in the 500 dollar neighborhood.

Comment

• dyazdani
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Oct 2005

I use a Fluke, but I don't think it does capacitance or frequency...
      Danish

Comment

• JonW
        Super Senior Member
        • Jan 2006

Thanks. Not sure on the budget. I actually don't know what range to expect for a DVM/DMM that would do what I want- just build crossovers. Nothing fancy as I really don't know what I'm doing. (You put the electrodes in your ears, right?) I hope I can get away with much less than $500, though.

Comment

• ThomasW
          Moderator Emeritus
          • Aug 2000

For crossovers you probably want a LCR meter. That way you can measure inductors and capacitors.

For a DMM you need to decide whether or not you want to pay the premium for a 'True RMS' unit vs a standard one. 'True RMS' are the more expensive and more accurate.

As with anything there are cost ranges for any meter, you don't need to spend $500 if this is just for DIY audio.

IB subwoofer FAQ page