X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pereze
    • May 2006

How good is good?

Hello Forum!

I am a new poster and I am new to speaker building. With that said, I have built the Dayton III MTM and think it sounds pretty darn good for the money.

I am looking to build a new set of speakers for my home theater and am very interested in the RS speakers. I have listened to some very high end audio lately to get ideas and one that grabs my attention is the Sonus Faber Concerto. Now, I don't think i could convince LOML to spend over 3 grand on speakers so its not really an option to get those.

Getting to my question, How good are these RS speakers? Are they equvilant to a $3000 pair of speakers, or maybe a $1000 pair of speakers? I know we all hear different things, and this is subjective, but I would be interested in your opinions.

As an aside, can anyone point me (or tell me) how the shape of the speaker effects its sound (other than standing waves)?

TIA,
    Eric
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

How good are these RS speakers?
    Worst case as good as the high-end European drivers, in some cases better.
    Are they equvilant to a $3000 pair of speakers
    The larger designs in the sticky threads are better.
    As an aside, can anyone point me (or tell me) how the shape of the speaker effects its sound
    The baffle reinforces the sound coming off the drivers. The wider the baffle the greater the interaction (bass output is boosted) . Generally speaking we prefer narrow baffles, that limits the interaction and corresponding coloration...

IB subwoofer FAQ page

"Complicated equipment and light reflectors and various other items of hardware are enough, to my mind, to prevent the birdie from coming out." ...... Henri Cartier-Bresson

Comment

• ---k---
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Nov 2005

I know that Chris won't speak up and tell you about how his budget MTM compete really well against speakers costing a lot more, so I will.