X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • HMenke
    • Feb 2006

Benefits of large speakers?

I may show my ignorance here, but I am getting curious. On this forum I have seen some pretty large main speaker designs, either with very big boxes, or huge multi-driver arrays as tall as the ceiling. Much larger than anything I would consider purchasing commercially, but not larger than I would consider building myself. As a DIY noob, I am wondering about the benefits and trade-offs of these large speaker designs.

For years I have always used 6" 2-way monitor speakers for music, augmented with a subwoofer for movies. My logic was that the smaller speakers give the best bang for the buck commercially and the 2-way crossover presented the least amount of alteration of the signal for better fidelity, even though the woofer and tweeter might be called upon to cover more frequency range than they ideally should.

I am guessing that the large boxes in many of these DIY designs are there for bass reproduction, so I assume these are intended for use without a subwoofer? And I am guessing that the huge speaker arrays also effectively reproduce bass and are also intended for high SPL playback? Is there any sacrifice of clarity with all those drivers competing with each other, or conversely, is SQ improved at a given SPL because the drivers aren't working as hard?

Henry
  • Dennis H
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Aug 2002

is SQ improved at a given SPL because the drivers aren't working as hard?
    Yes.

Comment

• Hdale85
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Jan 2006