X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Valorum
    • Mar 2006

Help with my 1st sub design adventure

Total newbie here trying to build his first sub. Did lots of reading here and on AVSForum, and got some questions answered there already and some suggestions for plans. I figured I'd come over here with my plans this far and see what you guys have to say about it before i start cutting.

The plan is to use the Dayton 15" DVC from PartsExpress. The sub size can be pretty big, it's going to be in a dedicated room (14'Wx29'Lx8'H) where looks don't matter too much.

Here's a pic of the front of the home theater:

Image not available

The front wall is about 14'Wx8'H with a 10.'5Wx4.5'H screen on it. I have about 24" from the floor up before picture blocking would take place, while on the sides i have about 16" max. The floor area in front of the screen where i can put stuff (the black area) extends to about 6' from the wall.

Since the pic i have moved the L & R speakers further into the room a good distance (and recalibrated). So i now have room for a rather large box to the left and right of the center channel. The mains can be moved around some if necessary, and i'm not married to the stands they're on. The center channel is the only one that really can't move much.

The plan as it stands now is either a box of ~350L tuned to ~17.7Hz or a box of ~470L tuned to ~15.5Hz. The box would be 24"Hx24"Dx~4.5'/~5.5'W. (The 470L box would fill almost the whole area from the side wall to the center channel.) I can see myself building another box just like it later on to put on the other side of the center channel and get more SPL that way :B

Here's what Unibox has to say about these 2 box designs. The 350L box would use about 240W while the 470L box would use about 180W before cone excursion becomes a problem.

Images not available